F-22 Raptor - decals

Will Vale

Hi folks,

I picked up a couple of these from the Lucky Model bargain bin recently for a silly price, and they're so nice in the box I thought I'd better build one. The idea is to do one 'proper' Raptor and kitbash the other into a 10-20 years hence drone vehicle. I was going to assemble them in parallel but I'm not very good at production line stuff and so the drone is still boxed up - good subject for the what-if group build?

I'm hoping to recreate this photo, by the way: http://www.air-attac...ke-exhaust.html

The kit includes "AK" decals for Elmendorf so that's sorted. There are even some remove-before-flight tags on the decal sheet :)

So far I've assembled the seat and cockpit and painted them. The photo shows just how much detail there is that I couldn't see, so I need to go back and clean up some of my splotches and try and bring out the raised controls a bit more. There are also two more decals for the panel and some to add to the seat as well.

7933403934_acaee3001c_c.jpg

(click for bigger)

The other thing I've done is add all the bits that'll be white to the bays and painted them. I covered the pin holes in the Sidewinder bays with small styrene strips, which look a bit agricultural in this pic, but hopefully they'll be less obvious when there's a missile on the rail. I didn't think it'd be possible to fill and sand them because the bay is a single part and the ribs are quite deep.

7933393052_0c7c94c5ec_c.jpg

I also sprayed the insides of the intakes, I'm now trying to psyche myself up to add the grey bits and decal them. There were a few pin marks to fill there as well, but I'm not planning to do anything clever with the seams, hopefully the fact that they're right-angled will mean I can just join them.