1/144 Revell Space Shuttle Atlantis and stack.

Hello all,

As a side project to my current GB commitments, i'm going to have a go at Revell's 1/144 Space Shuttle. I've never built a space kit before, so it's all a bit new! Though i do have plans to add a Saturn V and Lunar Module, but that's another story!

The kit:

IMG_2899.jpg

IMG_2900.jpg

Aftermarket:

IMG_2901.jpg

Using Realspacemodels resin engines and tile decals from a chap on ebay. The patch is for the final flight of, not only the Orbiter Atlantis, but the whole Space Shuttle program. STS-135 ran from 8th-21st July 2011.

My inspiration to build this now came from watching several videos on youtube, namely

and

Dave

Edited by DaveJL
  • Like 1

Same set up as I have lurking about. Really wish I could find the time and build as quickly as you... :hmmm:

I had planned to go 1/72 but this one looks big enough :lol:

Really don't know how I build so quickly...only two days off a week. Though, was off all last week so was able to power through the B-1 :winkgrin:

Dave

I built the Academy 1/144 Shuttle last year and used the tile decal set produced by Meteor Models - who have now ceased production. They certainly enhance the look of the orbiter but it was one of the most difficult decalling jobs more that I ever attempted.

In their natural state the tile pattern was far roo pronounced but a few misted coats of Tamiya Dark Grey, NATO Black and Smoke helped tone everything down.

I think the key thing to achieve for a realistic orbiter is to try and depict the various shades of white and the discolouration caused by re-entry which is really quite pronounced.

Edited by Eric Mc