Dragon's 1/350 Typhoon

Madhatter

hi guys

I just bought Dragon's allegedly awful 1/350 Typhoon kit (mainly because we aren't exactly spoilt for choice for this subject) and I intend to modify it so it looks right at the rear end.

However, I obviously need good references, so - does any one know of any good sites or books that can provide said references?

Also, what other areas need attention? I mean, if it's something anal retentive like the curve of the bow is out 5 degrees or something petty like that, I don't want to know, but I would like to know what obviousareas need amending (eg: the rear end).

Any ideas or links would be appreciated

thanks fellas

MH

thanks man. I was hoping for a cheaper alternative though :S

I got some tech drawings of the Typhoon courtesy of a poster over at ARC so they should help immensely

As I've never built a sub before, anyone got any good painting and weathering tips they could share?

Cheers

MH

Yes, don't paint it black! I tend to use Tamiya acrylic paints, and my favourite colour for submarines is their Nato Black. They also have a new colour called Rubber Black which is good too. Both are slightly lighter than true black, which gives a much better scale effect. I like to give the impression of a faded finish by applying patchy coats of slightly lightened paint. This helps to break up what would otherwise be a very large, plain model.

The Typhoon is covered in anechoic (sound deadening) tiles, some of which become detached from time to time, so it's a good idea to mask and spray odd tiles in different shades to represent this. They also get streaked with grime and rust, so some weathering pigments or thinned oil paint could be used to represent this.