Airfix 1/48th Seafire XVII

I don't put many in RFI,I'm a slow builder and I don't consider myself to be quite

upto the standards of some of the gems in here,so bear with me a bit please.

BTW,my photography and figure painting ain't that good either.

A rash of these appeared on here last year when the kit was released(that's when I bought mine-at a soggy Cosford)

so you can see how long I've been faffing about with it.

I wanted to do a three spoke wheeled overwing bulged high demarcation aircraft,so after much research,one of

the kit's options was selected,but in a later guise.

I discovered that SX358 had the requirements I wanted when she was with 1832 at Culham.

She'd had prior service with 800 NAS(side number 177)in Triumph and Hal Far in 1947,before going to the VR units

for the Weekend Warriors to ride about in.

Her final flight(after a full RNAY re-furb)was into storage at Stretton,where she sat in the long grass with the other

remaining members of her breed before being taken away to the scrappers for reduction to saucpans in the late 1950's.

So,without further adoo,here she is. SX358/103,1832 NAS(RNVR),HMS Hornbill/RNAS Culham,early 1950's.

"She'll be ready for you in a jiffy Sir"(Haven't you undone that jury strut yet lad!!!)

E-Baystuff001.jpg

E-Baystuff002.jpg

E-Baystuff006.jpg

E-Baystuff004.jpg

E-Baystuff009.jpg

E-Baystuff007.jpg

E-Baystuff008.jpg

Built very much OOB except for scratched rudder pedals and fuel tank back behind them,contols deflected

to reflect the flying surfaces,thinned ailerons and radiators,masking tape seat belts,erm...,that's about it really.

Oh yes,drilled out exhausts and scratched the wing bulges to match the three spoke

wheels too.

Painted with humbrol enamels and lightly weathered around the cowlings and forward panel lines that catch

the exhaust staining.

Big thanks to the gents that responded to the call for stb'd wing parts after I managed to ruin the original