RNZAF P51D Colours

Rodders

Hi All,

My next model is going to be the Italeri F51D as the RNZAF P51 but i know absolutely nothing about RNZAF aircraft. Could anyone help with a couple of questions,

1. Is the interior colour the same as for USAAF aircraft as listed in the instructions in the Italeri kit

2. Would the aircraft be heavilly weathered.

3. If anyone has done the kit like this, are the decals correct.

4. Please forgive the laziness, what part of the airframe would be in different metal shades.

I've never done a Mustang before and don't know much about it. I'm just doing it oob, to get some experience of doing metallic shades. I am going to use Tamiya XF16 as the base aluminium colour,

Can anyone help,

Thank you.

:)

1.) I believe that other than the national and squadron markings RNZAF P-51s would be identical to the US or RAAF aircraft.

2.) Go lightly.

3.) I don't have the kit so can't comment

4.) The wings would be painted on the original aircraft, so other than the gun bay doors, you won't see a lot of tonal variation there. For the fuselage, I'd just paint it aluminum and maybe make the panel around the exhausts a bit darker (maybe burnt steel (or just plain steel).

Of course, someone will be along soon and tell me that I'm totally out to lunch… :ike:<_<

I've done a bit of research into this as I'm doing the Tamiya P-51 in RNZAF colours, so with much thanks to Andy(SilverFox- IPMS RNZAF SIG Leader) and Google, I'd be confident in answering your questions.

1. Cockpit colours are Interior Green, then black around the fuel tank, then Yellow Zinc Chromate (YZC) after that, including the tail wheel well. From what I can gather, the main well was YZC too with the inside faces of the doors in Aluminium Lacquer.

2. No. All pictures I've seen of these machines show them to be very well looked after.

3. I believe the decals are correct, there is the same option on the excellent Ventura Decals sheet.