F51D...Just one after all....TOUCHDOWN!...Italeri 1/72nd

Kev1n

here we go.....this one....courtesy of Obi-Jiff Kit Distribution Services Inc.

...but I'll build it :)...and in RAF colours, since it has decals for RAF colours....

camcardDec10_2011017.jpg

camcardDec10_2011014.jpg

camcardDec10_2011020.jpg

camcardDec10_2011018.jpg

and I was wondering....

can anybody advise me on the wire aerial; did it really go through the canopy as shown on the box art, and since I've never tried this before, if it does,

whats the best way of doing it (and yes I know 'drill a hole'....but like I said, never tried that before so any tips would be appreciated) ?

camcardDec10_2011019a.jpg

more l8erz :)

Edited by kev1n

let the search begin then......altho since it's going to the RAF, that might make a difference....it would look pretty cool with an aerial going through the canopy like that, I dont have any issues with the aerial itself, just the drilling thru' the canopy part - thats the bit I havent tried before....

the drilling thru' the canopy part.

Drill through a patch of masking tape in case of slippage.

Start with a tiny tiny drill making a depression to help you centre the larger drill.

Withdraw to clear the swarf regularly. If it jams you can crack the canopy.

Go very very slowly, especially when you are about to come out of the other side.

(Some say you should drill half way from each side but I think the difficulty of

lining things up exactly makes this impractical.)

Good luck.

He's right, that's exactly how I would do it too. But I' would check to see if that particular machine had the wire HF aerial... Not certain if all RAF 'Ks' had them.

Ian

- Co-host, Britmodeller 2011 P-51 STGB -

• 1 month later...

ok then....actually I've had a change of mind.....

I now have this as well -

mustangkits1001.jpg

mustangkits1003.jpg

mustangkits1004.jpg

so this one will go in RAF c/s....