Airfix 1/72 Vosper MTB

Murdo

Hi all.

This was built in spurts (wherever that is) and I'm finally laying it to rest in the display cabinet. The Airfix 1/72 Vosper was a very nice kit to build and I think I'll make another one sometime.

On the front Bofors I added a scratch (very squint) gunsight from fuse wire and some shoulder rests though I think they might be out of scale. I made some ammo for the side guns by squeezing solder in a pliers jaws to get the shape of an ammo belt, painting them gold and added a small ammo box to each gun.

I bored out the searchlight, painted the inside silver, made a lens from hot glue and added some wiring. The side cables / rails are fishing line and the White Ensign was printed and glued together. It is my first attempt at making a diorama at sea (or anywhere) and I'm not really happy with it but... Hey. I won't use that particular Pollyfilla again.

It's painted and weathered as how I imagine a very busy wartime boat would look.

I really have to learn how to paint figgies properly.

Hope you like it. Any criticisms and comment welcome.

Vosper033Medium.jpg

Vosper037Medium.jpg

Vosper039Medium.jpg

Vosper034Medium.jpg

Vosper045Medium.jpg

Vosper047Medium.jpg

Vosper048Medium.jpg

Vosper038Medium.jpg

Thanks to all, I really enjoyed this very, very nice wee kit and the dio was a good learner.

Unfrortunately (ta Peepbeep) the space / size concern was more of a constriction than anything.

Rich, it was normal Pollyfilla. I might have got the mix wrong, maybe too much water or too much powder, I'm not sure which. Any paint (Acrylic) just lifted and curled the surface layer of Pollyfilla (several times).Next time I'll try covering it with a layer of thinned white glue or resin or... something.

Are the bits / tubes sticking out of the side exhausts or coolant water nozzles?

Can anyone help with this please?

They're exhausts.