richc's JASDF F-104J build

AnonymousFY21

Before anyone comments, yes I know it's a G and it should be a J, but I have a master plan :evil_laugh: .

Not sure whether I will use the Aires burner can yet, as the kit one is quite good and I would like to do this close to OOB, with just a few scratch built mods to seat and u/c bays.

The obligatory box shot:

104start.jpg

the TwoBobs decals are really nice, but I have a slightly smudged roundel that Hannants have offered to replace. Trouble is it means sending the sheet back and s*ds law says that they will have run out by the time they get them back and they are no longer available from TB, so I think I will just live with it. The sheet has enough decals to do two a/c, so AndyL is getting the remainder of the sheet, once we have agreed who is doing what. I am reluctant to do too much Natural Metal :door: , but hey nothing ventured nothing gained.

I have been beavering away since I got the kit last week. So far I have sprayed the wheels, assembled the main gear bay and sprayed it. I have also started to mod the bang seat, but have lost patience and started the pit tub and instrument panel.

The kit is pretty good, but my fuselage halves are like bananas :yikes: . I assume this is normal?

Anyway progress so far, the instrument panel.

instrumentpanelf104.jpg

It's not perfect, but I am pretty chuffed as I nearly bought the Eduard pre-painted one. It actually looks better in the flesh, the only thing that bothers me is the colour. Somebody gave me the correct FS number for US pits, but it looked way too dark when compared to all my refs regarding J's. I have however now found more pics that could back up the original suggestion :wacko: .

To Be Continued...................

rich

Edited by richc

• 3 weeks later...

Since Andy has ploughed on I thought I had better update a bit :hobbyhorse: .