Spitfire IXc Vs. IXe

Davec_24

Hi all,

I have the Revell/Hasegawa Spitfire IXc in the stash, but would like to finish it to represent the BBMF's Mk.IX, which is a LFIXe. Do any of you know what would be involved in converting the Hasegawa kit into this type?

Presumably the cannon would be shifted to the outboard gun bays, and a .50 cal put in the inboard bays - that shouldn't be too difficult. However, I'm no expert on the Spitfire, so am at a loss as to what else would need altering to make the Spit look "right" externally.

I'd appreciate any help/pointers that folk could give regarding this one!

Cheers :)

I'd appreciate any help/pointers that folk could give regarding this one!

All you really need to do to be close enough is swap the gun breech fairings on the cannon access panels, they moved outboard on the IXe to accommodate the new position for the cannon.

You could just chop the angled aft edges from the kit panels, swap them over then fill, sand and fix in place, to be accurate the 'e' patter fairings are slightly longer or is it taller?

Fit the pointed rudder, and check the elevators, most (but not all?) IXe's had the later elevators with larger horn balances, the BBMF machine is so fitted, the difference is in the elevator hinge line but I'm not sure now what pattern elevators the Hase kit is supplied with.

A lot will depend on whether you're intending to build it "as is," or "as was." As well as moving the cannon barrel out, you need to shorten it, by the parallel "middle bit," since the gun was also moved back, as well as out; this also means that the bulge was moved back, (it was fractionally bigger, too, but I doubt that you'll need to go that far.)

The IXe was, mostly, post-D-day, so the extended elevator horns, and "Mk.XII" rudder are essential.