British Panther

Folkbox1

I finally made it last week to the Tank Museum at Bovington and got to see a real Firefly (as well as lots of other inspiring stuff). I bought a glossy booklet there but haven't really read it yet but I noticed there was a photo of a Panther being crewed by British tankers (Guards armoured if I'm not mistaken). As I'm new to armour modelling I've so far only acquired British tanks but the idea of doing a British Panther certainly appeals as an excuse to do a German tank.

Does anyone know if the British used this (or other German tanks) in combat during WW2? (I believe it was quite common for the Germans to use captured tanks) Or was this likely just an evaluation of enemy kit?

Edited by Folkbox1

Pictures of British or American crews using captured German equipment are surprisingly rare. The impression I have is that there was a lot of to and fro in the Western Desert, but much less in Italy and Northern Europe. Perhaps it's because they had plenty of their own by then and didn't need to grab everything The Other Lot left them. The timescale of the Panther (it never went to Africa) thus indicates that your photo probably shows a tank being evaluated.

But there's nothing to stop you doing a British-operated Panther as a what-if. It could be captured or it could be something else - invented here instead of in Germany (as if!), or something more nefarious. Or, and here's a radical thought, if you want to build a Panther, build a German one! One other very rare option: build a French one. They used a few after the war. Good luck finding references, though ...

There certainly was a Panther used by the British Army in active service. It was repainted and given the name"Cuckoo." There are a number of sites on the internet which feature photos and it has been a modelling subject. If I can find the links I will post them.