Help modelling 1/72 Blackburn Shark II

Killingholme

Hi all,

I am building some old kits found in the attic as a return to modelling aircraft since abandoning it during childhood. Can I ask you chaps;

1) does anyone make a replacement 1/72 scale Armstrong-Siddeley Tiger engine suitable (enough) for the Shark? I cannot find a UK supplier, but would consider overseas.

2) I suppose no one makes an etched detail set for such an elderly kit, but would anyone care to suggest a good set I could perhaps take some parts from to dress the Shark's empty cockpit with? I'm thinking a swordfish set or something similar?

Any advice or suggestions gratefully recd. Forgive the daft questions- I am very new to modelling aircraft. This is only my second model after a frog Westland PV.3. 'Wallace'.

cheers

Will

Hi all,

I am building some old kits found in the attic as a return to modelling aircraft since abandoning it during childhood. Can I ask you chaps;

1) does anyone make a replacement 1/72 scale Armstrong-Siddeley Tiger engine suitable (enough) for the Shark? I cannot find a UK supplier, but would consider overseas.

2) I suppose no one makes an etched detail set for such an elderly kit, but would anyone care to suggest a good set I could perhaps take some parts from to dress the Shark's empty cockpit with? I'm thinking a swordfish set or something similar?

Any advice or suggestions gratefully recd. Forgive the daft questions- I am very new to modelling aircraft. This is only my second model after a frog Westland PV.3. 'Wallace'.

cheers

Will

On 1: no. However Aeroclub make (made?) an AS Panther engine (E008), which I felt came acceptably close: both are by AS and have 14 cylinders. It's certainly an improvement on what the kit offers. Aeroclub are not trading at the mo and Hannants seem to be sold out. It's still listed at The Aviation Hobby Shop (link below) but that's maybe not a guarantee it's actually in stock.