P-51D Mustang

Ok, cracking straight into this. Out of the three kits that I've made for this group build, this is my most serious one yet!

I'm impressed by the quality of the mould and the interior detail - which gives me plenty to play around with.

To start with, I gave the pieces a wash in a detergent bath, and let them dry properly...

And then I started painting the various pieces - starting with the pilot:

IMG_0145.jpg

Then the instrument panel:

IMG_0149.jpg

And then the cockpit sides:

IMG_0152.jpg

IMG_0151.jpg

Basically, what I've done is mixed up a zinc chromate colour from the black and yellow (probably about a 25/75 mix I'd guess), and used that as the base colour. Other colours were then added on top for extra detail.

For the pilot, I have no idea how I made his skin that colour. All I know is that it was brown and I added a touch of blue to the mix (unshaken) and it came out like that. A random, if not totally unexpected outcome. I will probably never do that again, ever... Especially as it looks like it should have had red involved somehow??? Can anyone explain this one to me please???

Anyway, that's where we are up until now.

Edited by Chris Jephcott

Ok...

And this is where today has brought me.

Following on from Mike's tip of adding small amounts of other colours to the silver to make it more effective, I have been experimenting with adding various shades. Yellow and black were the two which I used a lot of, and sometimes both, but I have to say that the silver paint coat was done in one attempt and covered without a streaky problem at all.

Having covered the aircraft in silver, I then added varying amounts of black to the silver in order to highlight various wing panels. Then it was time to add more detail, such as the cowling markings, the rudder etc...

So this is where we are - tomorrow, I will be working on the gear and other remaining bits and tidying up the work that I have done here!

Cheers for now!

IMG_0157.jpg

IMG_0156.jpg