Shutter speeds for prop blur at airshows?

dylan the rabbit

Ok, ok, I'm a photographer and should know this, but I hardly photograph prop planes in flight, and am going to Duxford this weekend to photograph the air display (for my personal and Britmodeller use of course!)

What's the ideal range for shutter speeds to get a bit of movement in the prop, and to make the rest of the plane tack sharp, bearing in mind I'll be on the ground?

My thoughts would be a minimum of 1/125-250th to freeze the plane, but not to freeze the prop.

Maybe I'm wrong, and I have a digital so I can do trial and error, but I'd rather know the range before I go down there.

Tata!

Nick

I think you're basicly in the appropriate range there. But if you've got a nice Image Stabilizing lens you could go even slower.

Getting chopper blur, now that's a pain in the butt. The blades are so slow I have been trying to get down to 1/100 and slower. Of course very often one will see not only the rotor getting blurry then... :P

IMG_0413.jpg

IMG_0091.jpg

I use anywhere between 1/125 and 1/320. I only go to 1/320 'cos I've got such a naff lens and don't wanna risk losing loads of shots.

Try 1/200th, it should generally do the trick

Wockas are different as you can practically watch the blades rotate!

Hi Nick,

You're spot on the right kind of range (not a photographer for nothing, obviously :) )

Here's a few for reference (apologies to those who've seen 'em before)

1/50...

PICT0365.jpg

1/60...

IMG_8665.jpg

1/125...

IMG_7098.jpg

1/200...

PICT0084.jpg

1/250...

IMG_0257.jpg