Paints and Colors

jaca44

I obviously posted this in the wrong place originally, so I hope this will get replies.

As a newb, I'm not quite sure where to post this. I've just got my first kit for about 60 years; a Special Hobby Junkers Ju88C-4 NJ made in the Czeck Replublic. The colors mentioned  are either H** or C*** which seem to be Gunze colors, whatever they are. I think I worked out most as similar 'Mr. Hobby" Mr. Color numbers such that C61 = Mr. Hobby 61.  However I am not entirely clear if I have ordered the correct kind of paint finish. Also, what kind of finish should be used for the exterior camo colors. I have seen reference to weathering as well which seems interesting. Also I need to know whether the pains should be thinned or not. Any help or directions to help would be appreciated.

END

I sort of gave up on getting a reply so I bought of Mr. Color paints whioch seemed to be the equivalent.

Meanwhile, I cam across ion e-Bay A Revell Monogram Junkers JU88C-6 which was 'shelf worn' but I got anyway AFAIK these. are not made any more. Thinking in advance I am looking at the RLM colors mentioned there. I find color chrfts producing either no or different equivalents to what is listed. For Instance RLM71 dark green is klisted as Humbrol 5 admiralty grey and not listed at all on another chart. RLM 74 dark grey also no equivalent listed or as HUmbrol81 pale yellow!

I get my paints on Amazon if possible as see Mr. Color, Tamiya and Vallejo being the main choices.

It seems I need some good painting guides; any YouTube suggestions?

I'm thinking the camouflage colors would have been RLM 74/75 topsides over RLM 76. Those paints in the Mr. Color line (which FWIW I like very much; they're acrylic lacquers and cover well) are 36, 37 and 117 respectively. Yes, you'll need to thin them to airbrush. You can use lacquer thinner, but I prefer Mr. Color proprietary thinners for airbrushing, especially their Self Leveling Thinner, which contains a retardant.