Gnat T.1 PK-15, or recapturing the spirit of bygone days... - Completed

Giorgio N

As I had to stop working on the Phantom, I have decided to build a different kit for this GB. Clearly with only 1 month to go, I had to choose something quick and easy and among the various Matchbox kits in the stash the one that looked more promising was the Gnat.

resized_e91f9d87-6d3a-4a2e-a982-c19987b2

I'm not an expert or a collector so I don't know if this is one of the original kits or a "Chinese" one that was produced after the true glory days of Matchbox. In any case here we have all the standard ingredients of a Matchbox kit, like the very nice boxart and the two-colour sprues, in this case white and red. Missing from the box is the traditional clear window that allowed to peek inside the box.

8227c9a2-3ddf-43d7-a0e9-0a48553c7f33.JPG

As said above, sprues are in two colours, with one single clear part

5a0f3ad4-9392-4be1-9b13-a9f869a78c2d.JPG

The plastic is the standard Matchbox plastic, quite hard. I personally have always preferred this kind of plastic to the soft one used by Airfix. The level of detail is what we can expect from an early Matchbox kit, almost nothing ! Panel lines are of course taken care by the infamous trench digger. Not that there are that many, as most have not been reproduced at all.

Decals are included for a Red Arrows Gnat and one CFS aircraft in the final Gnat trainer scheme, red with white upper fuselage and bands on the upper wings. The decals look to be useable but are not really great, personally I'll replace them with something from the spares box

80b63fd8-c87b-4a2c-bd50-91fc243fd411.JPG

With this being a Matchbox kit my initial plan was to build it straight out of the box to try and recapture the spirit of my childhood, when a kit was built in a day or two and then used to play against some other model, but then I found this in my stash:

3b398e5a-5780-4d79-a019-0d631e411171.JPG