Aerial line - the best for 1/72?

RidgeRunner

Hi all out there.

I'm new to the need for using line for wire aerials on prop types in 1/72. I'm generally a jet builder. So, what is the recommendation? It would be for wire aerials for A-1, P-47, P-51s etc.

Thanks.

Martin

• Like 1

I use E-Z line, available in a number of varieties- very forgiving to use- easily fixed with a tiny bit of CA and it's slightly stretchy so doesn't spell disaster if you accidentally catch it when handling the model afterwards.

Pretty sure I got mine from Modelling Tools who are members of this forum (and very helpful too), but as the BBC would say, other suppliers are available.

I note that the Modelling Tools website suggests there's a temporary supply delay http://www.modellingtools.co.uk/ez-line-31-c.asp

The one I have at the moment is a touch overscale for 1:72, but not so much as to be glaringly obvious to the layperson.

• Like 1

Actually used to be called nicker elastic thread.

Perfect size for 1/72. I have used Ez Line but after a while the line goes limp and it also frays.

Prym will not. Will stretch about double.

Recommended that using C/A to fix. Prime the wing or fuselage with an C/A accelerator. Dab C/A on the thread end.

With the accelerator the C/A will go off in secs. Use a thin C/A such as Rocket hot. Thread cut so that it is stretched about 10%.

But that depends on the slenderness of some points to be connected.

Prym is cheap compared to EZ line and a reel will last a life time of building 1/72.

https://www.ebay.com/p/Prym-Strick-elastic-200m-977770/2255388420 

Laurie

• Like 1

In my opinion, for what it's worth, is that any material of fixed length / not stretchy is a bit of a liability unless modela are permanently kept in a cabinet. Dusting / handling / transporting to club nights or shows etc will eventually result in broken rigging, whilst heat cycles will eventually lead to sagging.

The lycra products are immune to all this.