Airfix 1/48 Messerschmitt BF-109E4

Well here she folks – in all her glory – complete with stand…

If you want to check out how we got here – here is the WIP thread -

We won’t dwell on all the nightmares – you can see them all there – but as a newbie I learned a lot on this build – such as…

• Never use a sharpie for pre-shading
  • The kit itself goes together very well
  • I now know how to mottle with an airbrush
  • I can now use my scriber with Dymo Tape
  • I have learned about Luftwaffe splinter schemes
  • I now know yellow paint is beggar to put on
  • I understand more about Gruppen / Staffel / Rank / Geschwader colours and symbols
  • I realise 8 coats of paint and varnish are not good for a model
  • I found out that a sharpened cocktail stick beats a scalpel when removing masks
  • From my last build I now know clear rod looks better than brass rod for displaying
  • A black background is better to show my work than a white background
  • WIP threads aren’t just for experts

If I hadn’t done a work in progress build I wouldn’t have learned all the valuable stuff above.

Anyway – here she is – what do you think???

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

As always – Thanks for taking the time to look and any constructive comments or ideas are always welcome.

Oh - and if you like it - there is a 'like' button other there >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>  Please feel free to give it a click ;) 

Steve

• Like 42

very neat Steve

you'd never have known the struggle without the WIP,   and I really like your summation of what you learned,   I think you  also got BM at it's  best, or if you like, as an  extra modelling tool.

The display base really sets  it off.

I would suggest some light signs of use would add to the effect,  a touch of  exhaust staining and some light oil streaking on the underside

here's AE479,  one of the captured ones tested by the RAF

4-2.jpg