Correct Finish, Matte or Satin?

LuBu

Evening all, currently looking at getting back into doing some modelling, picked up a new airfix spitfire in 1/72. Hopefully do a work in progress thread! 

One aspect im not so sure on is the correct finish for ww2 aircraft, they appear neither Matte nor satin, yet more matte with a slight shine to it. Would this be correct? Obviously it will spend on the plane itself but as a general rule of thumb? If so how would I achieve this effect? 

Regards

Tom

Tom,

Firstly - welcome back to the hobby. This is a question often discussed, however it all depends on a number of things.

1. The time period that your kit belongs too

2. Do you wish to finish it as fairly new or well worn

3. In the end - what you like best. 

I will admit that I am no paint expert, however British WW2 paints did change somewhere between 1941-42 from a fairly Matt finish to one that was more smooth in texture and lustre (my quotes). If you are building a basic BoB Mk.1 then I would tend to go down the flatter side of the varnish spectrum, however (to my eye) model kits look better with a slight sheen to them.

I'm sure others here will offer their advice and opinions, however I've got both Flat Matt and Semi Gloss kits in my collection and I reckon the slighlty glossier ones look best. 

Cheers and good luck with your modellng return.. Dave

This is a good question LuBu and brings to mind the differences between reality and smaller scale work.