1/72nd Revell (SH) A-20G- 22 Sqn RAAF, 1944- FINISHED

Hiya Folks,

I`ve fancied doing a 22 Sqn RAAF A-20G Havoc for a while to go with my Boston Mk.III and Syd`s post here on BM a week or so ago prompted me to do something about it!

As the Revell (ex Special Hobby) night fighter Havoc kit which I had built recently as a Boston Mk.III seen here;

Image result for revell a-20 nighthawk 1/72

......had a late type solid nose left over I decided to use the Revell Boston Mk.V/ A-20J (another ex Special Hobby kit) kit seen here,.....but with the solid nose added;

Image result for revell boston 1/72 review

I started painting and whittling away last night and before I knew it I had got the main airframe together,....so I hope that Paul AJ doesn`t mind me `borrowing' his sprue shots from his own review here;

Image result for revell boston 1/72 review

hudsonsprue2.jpg

hudsoncloseup.jpg

It is a very nice kit but the fit of the separate nose can be a bit hit and miss!  I advise looking at Paul`s review for more excellent photos and views.

Now onto my own progress,....here is how far I got yesterday,.......with the solid nose leftover from the Revell night fighter variant;;

DSCF0446_zpss9fnb86w.jpg

To speed the process up a bit I applied Humbrol Grass Green from a rattle can to replicate the Interior Green colour with some rattle can black on the engines etc, although most of the black was actually brush painted.

Here are the DK Decals that I shall be using;

DSCF0447_zpsdkdcsmsm.jpg

352890-15526-11-pristine.jpg

And from this post here by Syd;

This is the aircraft that I intend to replicate,....A28-78, DU-R `Topsy' from 22 Sqn, RAAF on Noemfoor island in October 44,....although knowing me I could well change my mind along the way!;

A28_78_DU_R_001_zpsnkmxdr0k.jpg

plus another photo of the same aircraft from elsewhere showing the other side;

A_20G_A28_78_DU_R_43_22148_sized_zpsxnqp