Question On Acrylic Paint Primers

BetaSingh

Hello all,

I am relatively new to modelling, and I am making my first properly big plane soon. I have heard that with acrylics, a primer is essential. I am wanting to buy a primer from Hobbycraft (A UK Hobby Store), and I was wondering if I should get the Revell Aqua Color Primer, which costs £4, or the Humbrol Matt Primer, which costs £1.60. I am painting with a Revell White Gloss, and I don't really know the difference between the two types of primer, so, for the model which I am making, a Revell 1/144 Lufthansa 747-8, do you guys think I should get the Revell or Humbrol Primer?  All advice is greatly appreciated!

I use white spray primer from a spray can to prime. I use Duplicolor or Hicote from the local DIY shop or motor factors. I do 1/72 fighters, and I get 5-6 builds from a tin.

Mitch

• Like 1

Hi BetaSingh, 

For a white top coat I would advise white primer - as Tony just said- otherwise you will use a lot of white paint covering the grey.  TBH If either of the two you mention are designed to be brushed on, I'd leave them be - as in my opinion a brushed primer is a waste of your time and money ( even £1.60!!)  All you are doing is potentially adding another layer with brush marks, where as a primer should give you a nice silky smooth, erm... primed surface to work over. :)

Invest in a spray can of Halfords white plastic primer - or unless you intend to brush paint the white gloss - buy a can of Halford gloss white too ( Appliance White seems a fave in modelling circles)