Revell Boeing 747-8 Lufthansa

I am new to this forum and my first build (I am a complete beginner to building models) will be a Revell Boeing 747-8 Lufthansa aircraft. I have tried to use the internet to buy the equipment needed before building it in a few weeks but I am looking for some advice, like what equipment I will need, how long it generally takes you guys to build this plane, and if anyone has had experience building this aircraft, how it was and if there are any tips, tricks or advice. I am a complete novice so all answers will be greatly appreciated!

You'll need all the tools to required build any model. The absolute basic necessities are a razor knife such as the very popular Xacto knife with #11 (pointed) blade, various grades of sandpaper, filler putty to cover up the inevitable mistakes, paints, brushes and for this model, spray cans of white, light grey and silver (just because it's rather too large to paint well with a paint brush). You can make good use of tweezers, clamps. rubber bands and a largish flat board to work on without endangering your table. There are many good beginning modelling guides available on the internet. A few minutes with google will find you all sorts of good advice.

The best advice is to work slowly, and get a small cheap model to practise on so you don't ruin your 747. Also, don't forget to enjoy yourself. Our hobby is supposed to be relaxing :)

• Like 1

Enamel paint can be brushed straight out of the tinlet although most modellers invest in an airbrush sooner or later.  If you are brush painting, breathing fumes from a small tinlet of enamel paint is very unlikely to do any harm. However if you are airbrushing you should always wear a good face mask.  Standard enamel paint needs to be thinned before it can be sprayed through an airbrush.