1:144 scale Tornado kits question

bootneck

I have a few 1:144 scale Tornado kits that I would like to build but I am not very knowledgeable on the specifics of the Tornado aircraft.  I am just learning about the GR.1; GR.4; ADV and IDS etc., but I don't know if these are all covered by 1:144 manufacturers.  Has anyone done a comparison survey to identify which marks of aircraft are produced in 1:144 scale, or are they all basically the same kit from the same mould?  I am really only concerned with externally visible differences please.

So far, I have obtained Dragon's GR.1A, GR.4, ECR, F.3, MRCA & IDS; plus Revell's Tornado GR.1, ECR and IDS. 

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Mike

The Dragon kits are Dragon, (Revell released the F3) - from memory they all gave the correct bits for their marks- but there have been at least three other 1/144th Tornado kits. Italeri also released the IDS boxing

LS did the first IDS in German Navy markings (Also available as Arii)

There was a Korean mould that was a copy of the LS kit but not as quite as fine, this was also released by Revell. There is also a kit by Academy, which may or may not be the same kit

Then Revell released their own mould IDS/Gr1/ECR, which is quite nice. I would go Dragon and later Revell for any collection, the older Ones are just curiosities

Edited by Dave Fleming

Thanks Dave,

I'm presuming here that the later kits by Dragon and Revell do match the version/mark types described on the boxings?   If that is so then I am looking forward to having a little build-fest later with what I have.

cheers

Mike

Mike,

The Revell ECR/IDS/GR1 are the same kit, and the later boxing is the better kit IMO. You need to fill the gun ports for the ECR and the Secondary Heat Exchanger intake and FLIR for ECR's  have to be scratch built.