Liquid Mask Tips?

SteveR

Hi everyone,

Does anyone have any experience with liquid mask for masking plastic windows?

I'll soon start painting my Revell Enterprise NCC1701 1/600 model and it has lots of plastic windows that I will need to cover. I'm new to modelling and this is my first model so I'm very nervous about the painting phase.

There are no instructions on the bottle and I've struggled to find much in the way of specific and useful info on the web. I gather that the liquid turns a clear blue colour when dry, and the bottle says "don't leave on for a long time" without saying what a 'long time' is... hours? Days?

I did a few tests on some spare parts using Vallego liquid mask and now I'm even more worried! Some windows came out okay, most didn't, especially the smaller round one. Often the surrounding paint is damaged. Perhaps I should have left the paint to dry longer? But the vague time warning on the bottle had me worried about that too :(

Any help/info/tips would be greatly appreciated!

The image shows the liquid mask I have and the model, but not the spare parts I've tested on. The model is lit with LEDs and glued.

Thanks

liquidMask.jpg

I have made the same experience with liquid masking tape in general. It is difficult to mask precizely and the removal is troublesome too (chipping paint). For masking these windows I would cut masking tape to size and apply it to the windows or mask over the windows with tape, rub it down with a toothpic and cut along the window eges with a sharp blade. Then leave the window covered and remove the tape around the windows. When you use Tamiya tape you can take your time with painting.

Liquid masks can melt into the plastic when you leave it on too long (more than a week in my case). At least I have experienced this.