This site uses cookies! Learn More

This site uses cookies!

You can find a list of those cookies here: mysite.com/cookies

By continuing to use this site, you agree to allow us to store cookies on your computer. :)

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
cambridge

impromptu: All suggestions are wellcome

4 posts in this topic

making it short. I have zero experience in diorama making. I also have almost zero experience in modelling i used to do some kits when i was a kid and i've come back to the hobby recently.  

I had this Tamiya zero model scale 1/48 that i built to pick up some experience and i'm already no more satisfied with the result i achieved, therefore i would not put it on display anyway.

i also found i had at home an old package of DAS ( don't know if you have it in your country is a low quality modelling clay ).

Well how to put at good use both of them?, here's the idea, why not use them both to experiment in a diorama? since i'm planning to do another diorama and i'm waiting some material to be shipped at home i can make experiments on this and get some experience from it. Therefore here it is.  

I don't have a precise plan in mind, i'm not even sure i'll finish it, i'll just see how things work out while i do them.  

The plot is more or less just a crashed zero, on some pacific island. 

i'm opening this discussion more than anything to ask question and get suggestion from experienced people. 

Edited by cambridge

so here's how it starts. 

the zero has been torn to pieces,  I've made the base with the clay. that should give the idea of the plane skidding and then getting stuck in it. 

krAHQcO.jpg

than comes the first experiment, i've added a first layer of dirt ( made with coffee powder applied with a mix of water and glue ). It looks quite good on this scale.