Life Miniatures 1/10 "Sea Wolf"

Bigmick

Nope, now I've started I'm not stopping.

This is for the club table display at Telford.

Life Miniatures 1/10 resin bust of a U Boat captain titled "Sea Wolf"

I know it's not Nuts Planet, and I'm even more daunted painting this one having seen the box top art by Sang-Eon Lee, it seems he's based his art on Jurgen Prochnows costume in Das Boot, but jump in and see how he goes.

I started painting him at the Abingdon IPMS show then on nights, so if you're waiting for me to do a WIP you might have to wait a bit longer, as I've not started the head I might do for that.

A bit of research on Heinrich Lehmann-Willenbrock shows that he and his U Boat were the influence behind Das Boot, U-96 being sunk during an air raid at Wilhelmshaven in 1945, this was also the perfect opportunity to watch it again.

The Jacket was painted with German field grey as the base, the jackets were a copy of the denim type British battledress tunic of which many were captured after Dunkirk, originally brown or khaki in British service the Germans patterned it in a grey green denim, there are pictures of U Boat crews in the brown versions but I'll stick to the film version.

So a check shirt, ok, I'll have a stab at th st as well.

jurgen-prochnow-das-boot-5_zpsl5xrdttf.j

Reference pictures for the cap as well with white cover.

Das.Boot.1981.Directors.Cut.BluRay.1080p

The base blue was 930 dark blue mixed with a touch of black and white, a thin mix of white was used for the stripes, took a couple of tries to get the right mix but a steady hand got the pattern on, then flat red mixed with a small amount of black thinned slightly and painted on with my new best friends, Windsor and Newton series 7 brushes, a number 1 in this case.

So this is as far as I've got

IMAG0849_zpsqumybqiu.jpg