Kawasaki 750 Mach 4, "The Widow Maker"

Well that is the new workshop up and running with my first project completed, this kit was made in 1973 so the same age as me. I have never built a Heller kit before and it has some difficulties that is for sure, the instructions were somewhat vague for the exact position of some parts so quite tricky to assemble and quite fragile.
102_4593.jpg
It took two weeks to complete and here are a few images of the build up.

There were a great number of chrome parts but the fork legs were not one of them, I used an old telescopic aerial to make those with some steel welding wire to give them some strength.
102_4584.jpg
Lower fork legs sprayed with Alclad Aluminium.
102_4591.jpg
I used some kitchen foil to replicate the jubilee clips either side of the Carb's
102_4550.jpg
The engine was also sprayed with Alclad Aluminium.
102_4542.jpg
The rear shocks came with no spring just a piece of wire and a mandrel to form your own, I decided that using a a proper spring would be the way to go with more welding wire for strength.
102_4629.jpg
102_4632.jpg
Engine in.
102_4603.jpg
Handle Bars and wheels on.
102_4642.jpg
102_4643.jpg
The exhausts were pretty tricky with tiny mounting lugs, I drilled these out straight away and mounted with some small steel pins.
102_4669.jpg
102_4667.jpg
Body work painted, finished with Tamiya pearl lacquer, a big thanks to Tom Calbury for supplying the replacement decals.
102_4649.jpg
Final assembly.
102_4671.jpg
102_4676.jpg
Job done.
102_4714.jpg
102_4711.jpg
102_4696.jpg
102_4703.jpg
102_4715.jpg

Thanks for looking.

Danny Attree
Edited by danimalmagic
  • Like 19

Don't forget the standard Bridgestone tyres as well. Swapped mine for Avons and it made a huge difference.

Thats a super result Danny Brings back so many happy memories of the seventies.

Chris.

• Like 4