1/48 Revell F-5F +++FINISHED+++

AndyC

As I started painting the cockpits on my 'E' models, I thought I may as well start on this one too!

Box shots to start as per usual...

005_zpsbhvtquwl.jpg

006_zps4jwbdubj.jpg

May well do the Sundowners scheme in the box as they look good quality. See you soon.

• Like 1

Been getting on with the Monogram/Revell two-seater. Noticeably a newer and more detailed kit than its single seat brethren although with the same fit issues in the way its engineered.

Started on the cockpit...I decided not to use the decals as there is some well-defined detail to the side consoles and the IP's.

003_zpslx4onvzx.jpg

004_zpssljyniqm.jpg

006_zpsqsaz1vg4.jpg

007_zpsb0aidvvd.jpg

008_zpsvenmprwm.jpg

I will prime and paint the upper parts of the cockpit in readiness for receiving the tub and the IPs. Then I can glue up the fuselage and repeat the process from my single seaters. Thanks for looking

• 1 month later...

While waiting for various paints to arrive for my two F-5E builds, I have been cracking on with my F model...

The finished cockpit was glue in place into the top half with the various coamings and upper cockpit areas brush painted in NATO Black. I have also glued a nut into the bottom half as nose weight.

004_zps4ge8gxw6.jpg

Dry fit of the halves - not great as per Monogram/Revell standard!

006_zpsbq6qxvzo.jpg

So...filler on after glueing and into the usual cycle...

002_zpsytcaclh4.jpg

003_zpsian2r4vi.jpg

Intakes glued in place and filled

004_zpsljhbgvxw.jpg

Bottom side - you can see how much filler is needed to blend in the wings with their half-and-half design. I'd rather sand a leading edge than fill as per this design...

005_zpsqt4j8dfv.jpg

Anyway, this will move quicker now as I have the paints for this as a life-long USN builder (its going to be a VFC-111 machine).

Comments welcomed.

• Like 3

I feel your pain!