Tamiya 1/24 Aston Martin DBS

Hi guys,

Long time no post for me as we just bought a house and have spent the last few months renovating, so no room or time for building anything! But I just finished the Tamiya Aston Martin DBS.

I'm by no means a professional at this and there are many better than I am, but this is my fourth car and I like to think I'm getting better at it! What struck me initially was the difference in quality with the Tamiya kit compared to my other three cars (Revell). Detailing and parts are superb - this is reflected in the price of the kit (this was around 50 quid I think compared to the average Revell which is around 18). But totally worth it.

This is sort of a latter stage work in progress and finished article.

Work has begun. Putting the dining room table out of action. Girlfriend not happy.

IMAG0133_zps6vwnh6xy.jpg

The underside. Once again a credit to the Tamiya kit with the amount of detail they bother with here.

IMAG0135_zpsaub2fwqy.jpg

Interior done. Went with the stock colours as I like the nice matt finish, also went for the DSG gearbox.

IMAG0136_zps8sajojfc.jpg

IMAG0137_zpsxjw1qyaa.jpg

Couple of coats of white primer.

IMAG0138_zpshbheljrt.jpg

And on with the metallic silver. Instructions suggest black, but I just couldn't picture it!

IMAG0142_zps4crtntsu.jpg

A great tip I picked up from here ages ago, do the windscreen edges with a sharpie instead of paint and a brush. So much neater and the same effect. Also any clear red tail lights can be done with a sharpie too. I was almost suicidal when a big blob of glue fell from my (broken) glue gun straight onto the rear windshield. Some desperate googling brought me to a technique of sanding the windshield with 600 grit paper, rubbing it with toothpaste ('really?!' I thought to myself!) then coating it with floor polish. Came out great thankfully!

IMAG0143_zpsondwt3gn.jpg

Test fitting the body. Goes on alot easier than the Revell kits.

IMAG0144_zpsmpqas8nb.jpg