Jet2 silver

Hello all,

First post on here, I'm new to the scene and only have built one complete model so far.

Anyway I'm doing a Jet2 737 soon, won't be any decals as I won't be putting the logos on. Does anyone know what the best silver to use is?

I've searched on here and someone was happy with Humbrol 11 Silver, but just thought I'd ask and collect some other opinions. Would any standard Silver do? Maybe a non-metalic Silver?

Any help on this would be much appreciated :)

James.

Welcome to the wonderful world of model airliners. :)

I think Humbrol 11 Silver might be a bit too, er, silver. The real colour is very dependent on the light and can sometimes look almost grey.

Have a look at this beauty. Citadel Mithril Silver which Viking used is now known as Runefang Steel for some strange reason and is readily available from wargaming shops.

I'm doing a Jet 2 733 myself and I'm using Tamiya TS-76 Mica Silver oversprayed with TS-65 Pearl Clear a combination which worked well for me when I built a Skyteam 737-900

HTH

Dave

Edited by Skodadriver

Interesting, thank you for your input, as much as that Jet2 model is superb, I also see what you mean about it looking more grey. G-CELC is the one I'm going to do, here's one of my reference pics I took:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/131052441@N08/17356462925/

with no light on it, it's looks grey, but then using the silver would be no harm?

Absolutely not - it's your model and you should finish it however you think best.

Are you planning a diorama of Lima Charlie being parted out since you're not putting the logos on?

It must be Jet2 season as I've just ordered a set of decals from Draw Decal. I also couldn't remember where I'd seen that great build, so this topic is very handy, thanks. I'm pretty certain there have been numerous posts about this, but is the new Runefang steel just Mithril silver by a different name or has the actual colour changed slightly?