First time spray priming

Croftona

Hi

Pretty basic question here, I bought some Halfords plastic primer which I've had recommended as a newbie, I've been painting on primer so far so this will be my first go at spraying it on.

A couple of things I'm unsure on, is there any reason why I shouldn't just prime everything on the sprue before building? Seems to me to be the easiest way, but am I missing something?

Also, I understand about a light thin coat, but I read somewhere it's best to use Micromesh first so that the primer will bond better, how necessary is that step?

And finally, is one thin coat of primer all I need or should I do two or more?

Thanks

If you prime everything on the sprue, you've got to scrape back the primer where you glue stuff. It's a pain, in myexperience.

I've never micromeshed ahead of priming, except to get seams etc to look right. Degreasing and tacking off before priming really helps though.

How much primer is a (another) bit of a value judgement. All you're trying to achieve it an even coat for the paint to stick to, but if the subject is white/yellow/pale sky grey all over and the manufacturer has moulded it in black or charcoal grey, some extra primer is a big help.

• Like 1

A couple of things I'm unsure on, is there any reason why I shouldn't just prime everything on the sprue before building? Seems to me to be the easiest way, but am I missing something?

I`m new to this too and although I have bought a can of Humbrol spray primer I haven`t actually used it so far. Still, the answer to this one seems intuitive. You can`t spray the parts before detaching them because that means you can`t put them first together to see how they fit. Depending on the latter you might need to cut, file, sand, fill and so on and this would just remove the primer. Not to mention that the primer would cover the joining parts and would need to be removed from there in order to use the glue.