SADF Buffel

Christmas came early (or late I guess depending on your outlook) for me!

I've recently taken an interest in MRAPs used in Afghanistan and Iraq. I've just completed the RG31 (once I've finished the base I shall post pics), and am in the process of building a Buffalo ... what a beautiful vehicle! While researching these vehicles the South African connection was a common thread to almost every MRAP out there.

So, to try get a timeline of sorts of MRAPs I went to baxmod.co.za and ordered 4 of their kits, Buffel, Casspir, Ratel and Rhino. An impatient wait followed but finally last week they arrived!!!!

As I have limited resin kit experience I am going to start on what seems to be the easiest to build, the Buffel.

I will post some 'in the box' pics tonight and once that's done I shall break out the superglue and start gluing pieces together.

• Like 3

Good luck with the Baxmopdel kits you might also want to look at www.aerografix.co.za they have a G5 and G6 amongst others in their range and the quality is excellent.

Colin

Looking forward to seeing this come together - there is a Buffel at the Tank Museum Bovington although it may not be on public display all the time

Roger

• 3 weeks later...

Thanks for the replies everyone. Apologies for the delay in posting the promised photos but family life got in the way. Anyway, here's the photos and an update.

Here's the box shot:

buff1_zpspjwo6dhk.jpg

At first glance the kit looks good. I downloaded a number of reference photos and everything looks pretty good. This is a resin kit and the instructions are what I've come to expect from resin kits - you need to have some photos to cross reference against the plans and you need to do lots of dry fitting before applying the superglue.