Airfix 1/76 Tiger I (yeah that old one) upgraded......a bit... Finished! Photos in the RFI section

PlaStix

This wasn't originally a project I intended to post on Britmodeller because I didn't think it would amount to much (and it still might not!). If anyone looking in is a tank purist it may be worth looking away now as I'm still a novice at this and kind of making it up as I go along. It'll end up an artistic version rather than an accurate one.

The project began as an idea to fill some time when I'm not at home. I thought I'd buy something really cheap, that I wasn't bothered about if it didn't turn out well - primarily because I wouldn't have access to my usual kit building stuff.

Next I had to decide what to get - I'd enjoyed making the Panther and Tiger for the D-Day Group build so much that I thought I'd like to make another tank. I figured a tank would be small and compact and wouldn't have so many parts that might be easily broken.

Then, while in a local toy shop, I saw this:

15711767849_b54ec55167_c.jpg

and figured it would be okay to just glue together and paint - a bit like kit building when I was a kid.

However, when I actually looked in the box I realised it was obviously quite an old kit in a nice new box. When I got chance I decided to do some checking online and discovered, from looking at photos of completed, OOB versions of the kit, that it was quite a bit different from the nice artwork on the box and most photos of the original Tiger tanks that I found. To be fair I wasn't too bothered at this stage as it was going to be a project just to fill some spare time.

I put together some paints, glue, a needle file and a bit of fine emery paper in a plastic, lunch tub type box and, at the first opportunity I got, started work.