De Havilland DH 84 Dragon and DH 90 Dragonfly, scratch conv. 1/72

JWM

Hi,

Recently I post a short story of conversion of Frog/Novo Percival Proctor into Percival P3 Vega Gull Six.

It warmed me a bit and I started work on something, what I had been planned from about 10 years, to do one day. It is to construct models of DH 84 Dragon and DH 90 Dragonfly. I know, tahat there are kits of them in vacu technique or a resin one. However I want to try it anyway.... This is my first time when my scratch conversion of biplane(s) which needs preparation of new wings and then it will need rigging, I hope that I will manege, but I am not sure...

The basis is SINGLE DH 89 Dragon Rapide/Domine from Heller (my is reboxed by Airfix). The other main sources for canibalization of parts are DH 88 Comet by frog/novo (incompleted, engines went to Percival Q6 Petrel, which I alredy posted on RFI) and old mould of DH 82 Tiger Moth (old tool), Airfix.

Idea is that wings of DH90 I will do from outer parts of wings of DH89 (reshaped of course), wings of DH84 I will do from Tiger Moth (outer parts) and DH89 (central parts). Engins of DH90 will be done basicly using engines of DH 89. The fuselage of DH90 will be done with a lot use of fuselage of DH 88 Comet. The fuselage of DH 84 will be done from that of DH 89. Engines will be done from one DH82 and a resing copy of it. Anyway - I do not have any idea what to do with old mould DH 82 from Airfix :).

I started about 10 days ago from cutting the nose of DH 89. Then I turn to fuselage of Dragonfly. I planed to do two cuts, to remove some part of Comet fuselage.

(I am sorry for the quality of photo, I have not noticed that it is not sharp before I cut already)

dragonfly DSC02791

After a while it was looking like this:

dragonfly DSC02793dragonfly DSC02794

Meanwhile I started to cut wings for Dragon

dragon DSC02801

I had to remove slots, as you see from one wing.

dragon DSC02795

Here wings have basic shape

dragon DSC02802