Morane Saulnier MS 406 - I'm trying to sort out

leyreynolds

the differences within the MS 406 production run. So far I've seen mention of:

- retractable radiator

- two gun wings

- four gun wings

- larger fixed radiator

- two styles of exhausts

but cannot readily identify how they are related (eg did airframes with the larger fixed radiator also have the four gun wing?) and/or if any features were retro-fits and if there was any logical tie-up with the serial. As far as I can tell the MS 406 has few detailed references in English. Any help will be most welcome.

I'm no expert but from a quick look through my references the following seems to be the case;

Ms406 retractable radiator, all.

MS406 one gun per wing, all.

The MS410 had a revised wing with 2 guns per wing and a fixed radiator.

Cheers

Dennis

Hiya - right the 406 was armed with 1 drum fed MG per wing, plus the engine mounted cannon, and had the retractable radiator. Exhausts were the simple oval hole type though early 406s did use the Bronzavia downward curved pipes.

In an effort to improve the aircraft MS developed the 410 - this had 2 belt fed MGs per wing, a fixed radiator in a longer housing and ejector exhausts. Had the French got these into service - this would have been the standard fit for the 410. The germans let the french carry on building 410s post armistice, and a few 406s were also upgraded with new wings only I beleive too

Where it gets confusing is Finnish 406s - basically the germans sold the Finns sets of 410 parts after the fall of france - so you can see Finnish hybrid 406/410s - some with 2 mgs per wing, some with the 406 1 mg. Some have fixed 410 radiators some don't, and ditto with the exhaust. You really need a pic of the machine to see whats what.

ms_410_zps59f00664.jpg

this pic shows you a pretty much stock 410, although the exhausts still seem to be 406 ones!