Hoping for a quick build of this Airfix Fairey Firefly V.

AirfixFireflyBox_zps182ee30f.jpg

Bought on 8th Nov 1996 for 3.99 - I've never built a Firefly before.

Anyway here are those nearly 18 year old parts

AirfixFireflyParts_zpsfc99627a.jpg

There is Korean War option - which is what I'll be completing as.

AirfixFireflyPaints_zps2cc22a55.jpg

Sadly, this is the aircraft that crashed at Duxford on 12 July 2003,

killing Lt Cdr William Murton, and Neil Rix. :poppy:

Edited by theplasticsurgeon
  • Like 1

Nice. When I saw the title 'Fairey Firefly V' I thought it was going to be a Special Hobby kit so it's nice to see the Airfix getting an airing.

Sean

It's listed here as a 1966 release - but nothing printed on my fuselage.
Anyways, the cockpit is underway - now to paint pilots.
AirfixFireflyCockpit001_zps37827a82.jpg

It does have a folded option, but the parts aren't moveable.

The recognition stripes on the wings differ from box to instructions - can anyone show authoritatively for Korea

Good start! Although the kit has a few accuracy issues, I think it still looks the part and it is one of my favourites from that area.

Martin

Nice going with this. I know that this kit is criticised as being too skinny amongst other things but I've long liked the look of it & with skilful modelling as you are showing it comes up looking very good. :)

Steve.

Well last night I was about to declare an InBuildEmergency.
The canopy and rear hood were missing - leaving my Firefly like this:
AirfixFireflyLostCanopy_zps9ac49bd0.jpg
I was furious with myself for such carelessness.

Today they turned up
AirfixFireflyCanopy002_zpsf18ca349.jpg

Edited by theplasticsurgeon
  • Like 3