Casting a clear canopy

S5 modeller

Hi chaps.

I have recently acquired a kitech blue thunder kit. After looking at the canopy, I found that it is very cloudy and seems to be made out of a weired material. How easy would it be to cast a new canopy out of clear resin

I have found a company that sells water clear resin, which looks ideal for what I want, but I have never tried casting before. How easy is it to make a 2 part mould, or is there an easier way to do it?

This is the stuff I was looking at

http://www.ecfibreglasssupplies.co.uk/p-1592-water-clear-casting-resin-inc-catalyst.aspx

Thanks for looking.

Matt.

From what little I know about casting, my understanding is that clear resin requires a pressure pot in order to do it right. It's a job best left to professionals.

My recollection is that the Blue Thunder canopy is made up of flat panels. It might be easier to make one from scratch from clear plastic sheet.

The scale is 1/32 I believe, or there abouts.

Might give up on the idea of casting one, and go down the fsbrication route.

Been to my lms, and they have all the bits I have in mind to give it a go.

As you can see it is quite faceted.

CAM00106.jpg

CAM00105.jpg

You can't make it out in the bottom picture, but I have polished one of the panels with micromesh. I have got it looking quite good, nearly crystal clear, but I have polished off the frame detail and I am worried about over thinning it. Just the bit I did has removed 5 thou off the thickness. As it is only 40 thou to start with, it is a considerable reduction. Also it too about 90 mins just for one panel.

Matt

Edited by S5 modeller