Emhar bedford OLBD 'Warstone Haulage'

I was sad to hear about the death of Mr G Martain, he was the owner of 'Warstone Motors' in the village I live his family ran Warstone Haulage, they ran a fleet of Bedford trucks, and brought a Bedford OB bus for spares for the lorries, it was found to be in good order so was put to work, as the bus services took off, and a local company was taken over the buses took over, trading as the Green Bus Service.

My god-farther was a driver at the Green bus, and I spent alot of time there, I worked as a bus washer on Saturdays, and school holidays, and I took my PCV on a Green Bus.

A lone lorry was retained, it sat at the back of the yard awaiting restoration, and it recantly has found a new home. the real one can be seen here

Any way, i took an Emhar Bedford, custome decals and a modified flat body to copy the real version and my tribute to 'Warstone haulage is almost done!

12994115863_751fb3f709_c.jpg
SONY DSC by richellis1978, on Flickr

12994386784_395c641396_c.jpg

12993998305_93d054086b_c.jpg

I will add a load before I go to the Cosford show in April, and maybe a bit of weathering. Not sure yet!

• Like 9

• 1 month later...

Very nice build and finish

Have been looking at these kits for a while, just they seem a bit pricey, what do they build like

Pricey, compared to what? Italeri standard kit even on Ebay ranges from dealers £32-00 up to £47-00 these kits full retail are £39-98 but can be bought for £37-00 so in the same ball park as any other truck kit.

The only fault I found with the kit is the inaccurate rear wheels something that the late Ted Taylor pointed out to me, the wheel rim shape is incorrect and the tyres touch at the rear, but apart from that they are the only british trucks that have been mould in that scale in plastic for a very long time.

Edited by Mick_Gannon