1/350 Type 42 Destroyer "HMS Newcastle" Major refit.

Delta97

This is my Type 42 Destroyer Model I brought and due for a Major refit to strip her into later HMS Newcastle 2004 era from earlier T42, 1970s - 80s,

is about 41cm x 5cm

S7300001.jpgS7300002.jpgS7300003.jpgS7300008.jpg
S7300019.jpgS7300018.jpgS7300012.jpgS7300009.jpg
EDIT: More Photos:
45cm Ruler in 1st photo.

image.pngimage.pngimage.pngimage.png
image.png
Edited by Delta97

As the real things were between about 120 and 140m in length, yours scales out at 1/350 which is consistent with available kits, although this isn't one. As a result, I'd guess that fittings would be available in that scale...I'm no expert in these matters though!

Hope that helps,

Dean

Edited by Deanflyer
  • Like 2

She looks about 1/350, figures and fittings are available from White Ensign Models/L'Arsenal/Eduard/Gold Medal Models/Northstar. Eduard do some nice prepainted etched metal figures that fold in half to make them thicker, they are self adhesive so just a matter of removing them from the fret and folding them over and glue to the model.

L'arsenal and Northstar do resin figures, WEM and GMM do them as etched brass, all unpainted.

For fixtures and fittings go to WEM and L'arsenal, Both have a huge range of generic Royal Navy and just Navy stuff.

All the best with her 'refit'!

• Like 1

D97 was Edinburgh, wasn't it, not Newcastle? I guess she's the stretched 42 in your avatar picture...?

Anyway, as someone who is wrestling with an RN ship of the same era (and struggling to reproduce Ark Royal sea Dart fit!), i'll be watching this with interest.

Be careful with figures that are described as "RN" - they're usually WW2 era RN, so it might be better to get ones that aren't pre-painted (assuming you reckon your painting skills are up to it!).

Good luck!

• Like 1

D97 was Edinburgh, wasn't it, not Newcastle? I guess she's the stretched 42 in your avatar picture...?