The new Lightning

Essex

L4.jpgL5.jpgL3.jpgL2.jpgL1.jpgHello Folks,

I'm a newbie here; just starting to get back into modelling, was pretty good in teens and twenties and then a lapse but having been stuck at home for around five months dealing with tonsil cancer (all good news now) I have been filling a bit of time with the knife, plastic and glue. Always been a bit of a cold war era fan, apart form the Spitty and other Battle of Britain things and tanks.

Just got my new Lightning direct from Airfix, email notification on Wednesday when stock was in, ordered and arrived on Saturday morning; great little model. I have been amazed at the goodies one can get now, etc, resin and great aftermarket decals compared to twenty years ago and also shocked at some manufacturers prices for not always accurate kits (Hasegawa dual Sea Harriers rings a bell) so was doubly delighted with the Airfix Lightning.

Now, I'm not really up for being a reviewer as not enough experience so here are my reactions; a very well engineered kit, great surface detail and restrained panel lines, in fact the best I have seen from Airfix. The decals are great and look very high quality. The make up of the components suggest an easy DIY conversion to an F6 is possible and, like the '48 scale Lightning it is likely the combined F2a/F6 in one box will be out sometime. I have a few of the more recent new tools like the Gnat and Spitfire and, looking at forum feedback it appears Airfix have been listening and tweaking the panel line effects as they go, getting better each time. The wings look right too.

Enjoy the pictures (if not there I am still trying to work out how to load them) and Airfix, please do launch some UK Phantoms and a Chieftain tank in 1/72........

Edited by Essex
  • Like 3

Thanks for sharing that - once it arrives in Cheltenham I'll have one! But since sleepy Cheltenham has only just heard about the relief of Mafeking, I may need to wait a bit.

• Like 3