Revell 1/72 B-17F/G 'Sally B'

WV908

Hi all,

having only recently joined Britmodeller, you'll be joining Sally in her final stages. There's plenty of photos of the build to keep y'all happy. I won't bung all of them on in one go :)

Initial fuselage fettling with some temporary parts (including canopy) in place;

1_zpsc4c2a07a.jpg

2_zps3052cd65.jpg

3_zps5bb42bef.jpg

Early interior shots;

4_zpsb65e14d2.jpg

5_zpsf957d3f3.jpg

6_zpsb47084fd.jpg

7_zpsafca01bb.jpg

Modified nose windows, unique to Sally;

8_zpsa02f1cd1.jpg

10_zps5dd18a9a.jpg

11_zps892e2099.jpg

• Like 1

Wow, love the engine cover ring bit!! (I'm not an engineer incase you weee wondering!!) really coming together nicely, it's making me want to get stuck into mine straight away!

Cowling, that's the word I was looking for!

Hi Cheshiretaurus, the generic Memphis Belle decals came with the kit, and both sets of nose art had to be outsourced. A short while back I scanned the transfers and printed copies on normal paper - sellotaping them to the aircraft.

28_zps9392c236.jpg

29_zpsb375ee04.jpg

30_zps1d903d0f.jpg

31_zps4e0bab62.jpg

32_zps8a947675.jpg

Edited by WV908
  • Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Gunpowder17, she is to be finished in circa 2011 condition. It's when I first saw her flying at Waddo.

Second masking session;

49_zpse5bfd9cf.jpg

The aircraft currently has two top coats and will receive a third and possibly fourth when the weather picks up. It's a tad too windy at present

Edited by WV908

Third coat on - the leading edges of the vertical stabilizers need a little bit of attention. Once done the masking will be removed and I'll temporarily fit the wheels, engines, ect for y'all before she's masked for the black leading edge sections

Hi Iain, thanks! :)