1/48 Hasegawa CF-18 751 Airshow scheme

I am new to Britmodeller, having been enticed to have a look around by Neu, who wanted me to see his build thread here.

Of course, upon seeing a Hornet Single Type Group Build, I absolutely had to join up and participate, so here goes.

To explain why it was imperative for me to participate, here is a short list of reasons:

-I enjoy GBs

-The Hornet is my all-time favourite aircraft (I flew them for 10 years in the Canadian Forces)

-I have a whole bunch of Hornet models I want to build

I looked at the time I had remaining to build something, and hesitated for quite a while before choosing the kit and subject. I even discussed it over beers with a fellow modeller in Canada while visiting Ottawa a few days ago (some 400 miles from my home). My first thought was to build one of the 3 Academy 1/32 scale monsters I have in my stash; after all, I have already built about 6 of them (5 for other pilots, and one for myself), and my average build time is about 6 weeks for that kit. But my friend Mike in Ottawa advised against it, after I said I also wanted to take my time and get it right (which rarely happens with me and my builds!).

I then told Mike (while having some great Mexican food at a downtown restaurant) that I did not happen to have a 1/48 Hornet kit in my stash, upon which he said "I have 4 of them - I'll put one in the mail for you when I get home." A few dollars changed hands, and I am now eagerly anticipating the arrival of the 75th anniversary CF-18 boxing of the well-known Hasegawa kit.

I also have a couple Legend productions SJU-5/6 seats (LF4033). I'll use one to replace the poor kit seat, but the rest of the cockpit is good enough for me in this scale.

So, which subject did I choose (for those who didn't read the title)? :winkgrin:

It was an airshow scheme from 1994, in Bagotville Quebec, where I was stationed at the time. Here it is:

CF1842570th_zpsd1297ebb.jpg