Welcome to the large scale AFV section

This is a new area for Britmodeller, as it seems that quite a few of us are interested in these large scale models of famous armour such as the Tiger, King Tiger, Sherman, Pershing and many others. Remote control tanks aren't just the bailiwick of Tamiya with their high quality, but expensive kits. Heng Long supply remote control tanks for a fraction of the price, with sound, smoke and engine noises, as do a growing group of other suppliers such are Torro and in un-motorised forms,Trumpeter, Hobby Boss and now Panda. I'm sure I've missed some out, but I'm new to this growing group of modellers.

Why the new section? Well, the factors of size and the inclusion of remote control on a lot of these scale kits, they're quite a bit different from the usual scales. They're also a bit harder to store, as the big ones such as the King Tiger are almost 60cm from front to back. Whether you buy them to use as fun toys, or upgrade them so that they're as accurate as possible, they can be quite good fun to play with, although if you're dedicated, you can run up quite a bill even if you don't choose Tamiya. If money is no object, you can go crazy with the Armortek kits, which I think are 1:6 or even crazier with a 1:4 King Tiger that'll cost from between £3,300 and over £10,000 depending on what you specify. That one can pull a car, and looks truly scary.

It's quite a broad church though, as the Heng Long Tiger I can be had for around £50 if you shop around, and includes all the features above, with the King Tiger and others weighing in at only a little more for the basic plastic kits. You can spend a couple of hundred on a full-metal version of most tanks, which includes metal gears, wheels and tracks, or you you could buy the cheaper ones and upgrade to metal as parts wear out to keep your costs down. it's all very tempting though! :lol: