Iwata Eclispe HP-BS Airbrush from Air-craft.net

Julien

Iwata Eclispe HP-BS Airbrush
From Air-craft.net

iw%201.JPG

Iwata describe the Eclipse series of airbrushes as Multi-purpose, high-paint flow, high detail professional airbrushes. For use in applying moderate to large amounts of paint to a variety of surfaces,and to various sized areas. The HP-BS is a gravity fed airbrush featuring a 0.35mm needle / nozzle combination with a 1/16oz sized cup. The improved funnel design of this cup makes for a more efficient paint flow, and easier cleaning. This reviewer is fairly new to airbrushing in proportion to the length of time I have been building models, and I have been a brush painter for the majority of my modelling career, considering airbrushing one of the dark arts! I have David Pennington ex of SBX models for getting me into airbrushing as he said it would improve my models, he was not wrong and this is my public thank you to David for this.

I normally use the HP-CS with its large 1/3oz sized cup, so wondered why you would want the HP-BS, as it looked like the same airbrush with a smaller cup. In fact as well as a smaller cup the HP-BS is about 10mm shorter than the HP-CS.

iw%204.JPG

Now these differences do not seem a lot, however it makes the HP-BS seem a lot more light and nimble in your hands, great for painting smaller and more intricate details. I also like the smaller cup as it means I mix (and waste) less paint when doing smaller jobs.

The airbrush arrives in a sturdy card box in a foam bed to protect it during transit.

iw%203.JPG

The build quality of looks very good indeed with them being made in Japan, that's pretty much guaranteed. The HP-BS is a standard 0.3mm nozzle and needle, with many of the parts looking like they are common across the range, which will help keep the cost of replacement of consumables down should you happen to need any.

iw%202.JPG

Conclusion