36 Burma Spifires found

chrisrope

The English farmer (forget his name) behind this search/find was interviewed this morning on BBC R4's Today programme, and it all sounds very positive. The figure of 36 Spits seemed to be confirmed and he says he has confidence in the Burmese government's sticking to the contract he's signed with them to remove the aircraft. Let's hope for the best - as mentioned in the interview, 36 is more than the number of restored Spits currently flying...

Tony

The English farmer (forget his name)

David Cundall, and he's backed by computer games company Wargaming.net.

Now there's an unusual association. Can we look forward to Zombie Killer Turnips next Christmas?

Pardon my suspiciousness but, I've been hearing this 'story' for quite a few years now and even though I'm optimistic as a person, I have my doubts not only about the fact if this story is true or not, but also about the condition and the number of the found aircrafts as well as, about the Burmese government willingness to provide any kind of assistance to the team which will excavate the specified area.

Yet, I do hope part of this story to be true and to see in a few years time, these lovely "birds" filling our skies again.

Cheers

Sernak

Pardon my suspiciousness but, I've been hearing this 'story' for quite a few years now and even though I'm optimistic as a person, I have my doubts not only about the fact if this story is true or not, but also about the condition and the number of the found aircrafts as well as, about the Burmese government willingness to provide any kind of assistance to the team which will excavate the specified area.

Yet, I do hope part of this story to be true and to see in a few years time, these lovely "birds" filling our skies again.

Cheers

Sernak

I'm quite optimistic about Government co-operation, they (the current regime) are eager for aid and 'brownie points' with Western Governments.