Hawker Hunter F.6, XF526, 4 FTS, RAF Valley

Hi mates,

Now that I've put the F-14 build to bed, I can get started on the Hunter. I'll be using the Revell 1:72 kit, and the Xtradecal sheet 72046 which has the colorful markings of 4 FTS, specifically XF526 at RAF Valley in 1972. I've never built a Hunter before, and can claim no special knowledge other than what's in the box. So I'd like to ask some questions first to make sure I don't make any big mistakes right up front.

There appear to be no Sabrinas on this Flying Test School aircraft. Does the Revell kit require any fuselage modifications in the place where the Sabrinas would normally be? It doesn't look like it, as the fuselage seems quite smooth in that area, and the curvature is the same as the surrounding areas.

Are the red and white colours glossy? What about the grey that is on the inboard sections of the wings?

I'll probably be using Gunze paints on this. Does anyone have any recommendations for paint matches to the red and grey? I think the BS numbers are 381C-537 for the red and 381C-627 for the grey.

I have the Quickboost resin air brake. I suspect that this is another one of those things that should be closed while the aircraft is parked, but I sometimes like to keep these open just to add some visual interest. What colour would the inside surface of the air brake and well be?

What colour are the wheel well, hubs, and landing gear? The Revell instructions say aluminum, which sounds right to me but better safe than sorry. It wouldn't be the first time that I've had to re-paint after the model was finished!

I also have the Eduard PE set with the color zoom for the cockpit, plus some external details. Black is correct for the cockpit and bang seat? The PE also includes lowered landing flaps which I probably won't use, unless one of you talks me into it!

Thanks for any other help and advice! Looking forward to my first Hunter!

Cheers,

Bill

Hi mates,