Hawker Hunter F.4

Hi All.

I had originally intended to do a Revell 1/72 Hunter as the Swiss ‘Papyrus’ scheme but I see that this is already being covered, so I thought I’d have a go at an F.4 in 1/48th instead.

Hopefully it will be Hawker Hunter F.4 XF938 of No.71 Squadron circa 1957.

I’ll be using the Academy F.6 kit with the following:-

Neomega resin cockpit set

Aeroclub replacement tail pipe

Aeroclub white metal wheel set

Heritage Aviation early hunter conversion set

AeroMaster Decals Hunter Pt.1 48-345

I’m no Hunter expert and so do not wish to get bogged down with accuracy issues: I haven’t tickled the plastic for a while so my main aim is definitely to have fun. That said, I am aware that there are some differences with the vents on the fuselages between the different marks, so I may make the odd alteration if I feel my skills are up to it!

Very much looking forward to starting on this but it won’t be for a few days as I’ve some long Shifts at work ahead of me first. I’ve also got to have a tidy up in the modelling shed and blow the cobwebs out!

Z2.jpg

Thanks for looking

Mark

Great stuff, look forward to seeing this.

I have been tempted by the Heritage F4 wings, but could never understand why they didn't add the tailpipe as well! Do Aeroclub do the F4 pipe then?

Cheers

Simon

Great stuff, look forward to seeing this.

I have been tempted by the Heritage F4 wings, but could never understand why they didn't add the tailpipe as well! Do Aeroclub do the F4 pipe then?

Cheers

Simon

In Aeroclub's set they have three separate tail pipes - to replace those awful kit items. One for the FGA9/FR10, and one each for the early 100 series Avons (and Sapphires) and the 200 Series F6. The latter two have white metal tail pipe rims - which when polished up look rather nifty!